ourschoolboard.org Find my school

District overview

Highline School District 401

Funding structure, how it compares to peers, and where major projects stand.

A state-funded district using local ballot measures for major capital work

2026-27 budget adopted; two capital measures scheduled for November

Highline is governed by a five-member elected board. Its operating budget is developed across district funds and enrollment projections, while major rebuilding, technology, and capital improvements are being put to voters through a bond and levy.

Elected board

Joe Van is president and Angelica Alvarez is vice president; Damarys Espinoza, Blaine Holien, and Stephanie Tidholm also serve.

Budget pressure

The board authorized certificated non-renewal notices as part of a balanced-budget reduction in force before adopting the 2026-27 budget on July 1.

Local capital funding

The November ballot carries a bond of up to $595.4 million and a separate four-year, $48 million technology and capital levy.

District leadership

Dr. Ivan Duran is superintendent; the board evaluates the superintendent and adopts district policy and budgets.

The reviewed minutes establish the budget actions and ballot proposals but do not include the detailed adopted budget tables needed for a reliable per-student spending figure.

Where the district stands

Proposed school-rebuild bondverified
$595.4 million maximum principal
Proposed technology and capital levyverified
$48 million four years
Open Doors reengagement contractsverified
$2.63 million combined maximum
Per-student spendingcontext
Not stated in reviewed meeting records

Major projects

Three-middle-school rebuild proposal

On the November 3, 2026 ballot

Resolution 11-26 asks voters to authorize up to $595.4 million to rebuild Sylvester, Cascade, and Chinook middle schools and fund other capital improvements and critical needs.

Next: November 3, 2026 voter decision
  1. Bond resolution introduced
  2. Board approved ballot placement
  3. Scheduled election

Funding

Proposed voter-authorized general-obligation bonds, up to $595.4 million

HealthPoint school-based health centers

License agreements approved

The board approved HealthPoint license agreements for centers at Highline, Tyee, and Evergreen high schools.

Next: District implementation at the three campuses
  1. License agreements introduced
  2. Board approved agreements 4-0

Funding

Not stated in the reviewed minutes

Local elections & school board members

Elections & votes

Parcel taxScheduled

Proposed technology and capital improvements levy

Highline School District 401 · $48,000,000

The school board approved a proposed four-year, $48 million educational technology and capital improvements levy for the November 3, 2026 ballot.

Official source · verified Sep 13, 2026

BondScheduled

Proposed Highline school construction bond

Highline School District 401 · $595,400,000

The school board approved a resolution to place a proposed general-obligation bond of up to $595.4 million on the November 3, 2026 ballot for rebuilding three middle schools and other capital needs.

Official source · verified Sep 13, 2026

School board members

Recent news

This page synthesizes 97 official district records across 24 dated meeting groups from September 17, 2025 through September 2, 2026.

Get alerts for Highline School District 401

We read every agenda, packet, and set of minutes, and write up the decisions that affect families — each one linked to the document it came from.

View alerts for this district