District overview
Edison Township Public Schools
How Edison schools are paid for, who decides, and what is being built or argued over right now
Where does the money come from?
Edison is a big, locally funded district. Of the $358.3 million budget the board adopted for 2026-2027, $249.1 million is raised in Edison property taxes and $109.2 million comes from everything else combined, with state revenue of $92.3 million and no debt service levy at all. New Jersey normally caps levy growth at 2 percent a year, and Edison held its levy at exactly $235,013,168 for three years running. For 2026-2027 it went up 6.00 percent, and the adoption resolution says how: a $3,968,093 healthcare adjustment plus $5,432,434 of banked cap, the unused levy room carried forward from those flat years. Two costs explain most of it. Special education instruction rose $6,027,510, a quarter in one year, while the state's special education aid fell 5 percent, and the district's own enrolment study projects 870 fewer students overall, which is the backdrop to a board that spent the year divided over whether to buy land.
About seven dollars in ten are local taxes
$249,113,958 of the $358,269,420 adopted budget. State revenue is $92,295,757 and falling: transportation aid down 9.04 percent, special education aid down 5.08 percent and security aid down 6.76 percent for 2026-2027.
Three flat years, then 6 percent
The levy was $235,013,168 in 2023-24, 2024-25 and 2025-26, then $249,113,958 for 2026-27. Getting above the 2 percent cap took a $3,968,093 healthcare adjustment and $5,432,434 of banked cap, which is a one-off: once spent, that carried-forward room is gone.
Special education is the fastest-growing cost
Special education instruction rises from $24,036,578 to $30,064,088, up 25.08 percent, as full-time special education enrolment goes from 1,724 to an estimated 1,912. The district has discussed leasing a building to run those programmes in district instead of paying out-of-district tuition.
Enrolment is projected to fall
The district's own demographer projects 870 fewer students, 5.2 percent, over the projection period, with elementary grades taking most of it, and notes enrolments sit near practice capacity after expansion.
Nine elected members, meetings that move around
The board has nine elected members and sets officers each January. It alternates caucus and public action meetings between the Education Center, Edison High School and John P. Stevens High School, and revised its 2026 schedule in March, cancelling two caucus meetings and moving preliminary budget approval.
None of this means the district is in difficulty. It carries no debt service levy, it has finished a new middle school gymnasium and is working through renovations at four schools, it draws in grant money from career and technical education to Special Olympics programmes, and its administration costs and per-pupil spending of $16,832 are modest for a district of nearly 17,000 pupils. The pressures here are special education demand and state aid, neither of which the board sets.
Where the district stands
Calculated: $249,113,958 of taxes to be raised against the $358,269,420 adopted budget, both from the adoption resolution, so the ratio is context rather than a reported figure.
Calculated: 15,069 regular plus 1,912 special education full-time pupils from the 2025-2026 user-friendly budget's enrolment table.
From the federal NCES Common Core of Data 2025-26 preliminary directory, not a district document.
Major projects
Renovations and additions at four schools
Peak of the programme; capital outlay halves next yearEdison is running several projects at once: renovations to the John P. Stevens High School auditorium on a contract of about $6.06 million, new electrical work in the John P. Stevens science labs on a $662,515 contract, additions and renovations at John Marshall Elementary School, and a project at James Madison Intermediate School that was held up by an appellate stay before a contract was awarded in December 2025. A new gymnasium at Woodrow Wilson Middle School is finished and the board met in it in September 2025. Change orders through the year covered lobby panelling, state environmental requirements, anchor bolts and $110,000 of overtime.
- Board meets in the new Woodrow Wilson Middle School gymnasium; appellate stay reported on the James Madison Intermediate project
- Change orders approved on the John P. Stevens science labs and the John Marshall additions
- James Madison Intermediate contract awarded, with a kick-off meeting set for December
- Budget adopted with capital outlay cut to $20,594,921
Funding
Capital outlay inside the operating budget plus withdrawals from capital reserve; $1,000,000 of capital reserve is budgeted for long range facilities plan projects in 2026-2027
430 Talmadge Road land purchase
Contract termination proposed; board dividedThe district worked through 2025 on buying 430 Talmadge Road, with due diligence in progress by September and easements under review with bond counsel by November. The April 28, 2026 agenda then carried a resolution authorising termination of the purchase contract. At the May 5 and May 19, 2026 meetings a member twice moved to take the Talmadge Road resolution off the table and lost both times, three to five and then four to five. The collected record does not state what the land was for or what it would have cost.
- Finance and facilities committee reports due diligence in progress on the purchase
- Committee reviewing easements with bond counsel
- Agenda carries a resolution authorising termination of the purchase contract
- Second motion to un-table the resolution fails four votes to five
Funding
Not stated in the collected records; the district retained bond counsel and a financial advisor for 2026-2027
Bringing special education programmes back in district
Under discussionWith special education instruction up 25 percent to $30,064,088 and individual out-of-district placements running between about $17,500 and $25,600 a year, the finance and facilities committee discussed in November 2025 leasing a building from Our Lady of Peace to run special education programmes so that students currently placed outside the district could be brought back in. Nothing has been signed in the collected record.
- Committee discusses leasing a building from Our Lady of Peace so out-of-district students can be rematriculated in district
- Budget adopted with special education instruction up $6,027,510
Funding
Would be met from the special education budget, against the out-of-district tuition it is intended to replace
New cellphone policy for 2026-2027
Being rolled outThe policy committee reported in June 2026 that it had reviewed the state policy alert behind New Jersey's new device rules and was working on implementing the district's new cellphone policy, including how it would be communicated and what would be expected, for a rollout in the 2026-2027 school year. The published manual still carries the older Policy 5516, last edited April 2025, which limits personal device use during the school day and protects use documented in an individualized education programme, a 504 plan or a health plan approved by the principal and school nurse.
- Policy committee reviews the state policy alert and discusses rollout for 2026-2027
Funding
No separate appropriation identified in the collected records
Energy savings improvement programme, phase two
Financing arrangedThe district is running a second phase of an energy savings improvement programme with ABM, with project financing reported to the finance and facilities committee in September 2025. New Jersey's energy savings improvement programme lets a district pay for efficiency work out of the energy savings it produces rather than from the tax levy.
- Finance and facilities committee reports phase two project financing with ABM
Funding
Energy savings improvement programme financing, repaid from projected energy savings rather than the levy
Recent news
Built from the Edison Township Board of Education's own records published through the district's content management system: approved minutes for every board meeting from September 2025 through June 2026, the April 28, 2026 budget agenda and budget vote resolution, the 2026-2027 budget line-item detail and the 2025-2026 user-friendly budget summary, the 2024 demographer's report, the 2026 meeting schedule and location notices, the policy first and second reading packets, and the district's published policies on student device use and generative artificial intelligence.
Get alerts for Edison Township Public Schools
We read every agenda, packet, and set of minutes, and write up the decisions that affect families — each one linked to the document it came from.
View alerts for this district